LPM2004 Award-Winners

The LPM2004 Outstanding Oral Paper Award

Session 5: 3D nano and microfabrication

"Laser-driven multi-degrees-of-freedom nanomanipulators produced by two-photon microstereolithography"

Associate Prof. Shoji Maruo

Yokohama National University, Japan

Prof. Koji Ikuta

Nagoya University, Japan,

Mr. Masafumi Ogawa

Nagoya University, Japan

Session 9: Joint Session (Ultrafast laser processing of glass/ceramics) 2

"3D integration of microoptics and microfluidics in glass using a femtosecond laser direct-writing"

Dr. Ya Cheng

RIKEN - The Institute of Physical and Chemical Research, Japan

Dr. Koji Sugioka

RIKEN - The Institute of Physical and Chemical Research, Japan

Dr. Katsumi Midorikawa

RIKEN - The Institute of Physical and Chemical Research, Japan

Session 22: Manufacture of micro devices and systems

"Application of laser direct-write techniques for embedding electronic and micropower components"

Dr. Alberto Pique

Naval Research Laboratory, USA

Prof. Scott A. Mathews

Catholic University of America, USA

Mr. Ray C.Y. Auyeung

Naval Research Laboratory, USA

Prof. Craig B. Arnold

Princeton University.USA

Dr. Michael Ollinger

Naval Research Laboratory, USA

Dr. Heungsoo Kim

Naval Research Laboratory, USA

Dr. Tom E. Sutto

Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Div., USA

The LPM2004 Student Paper Award (Oral)

Session 22: Micro machining

"Micromachining of transparent materials by laser-induced plasma-assisted ablation (LIPAA)"

Mr. Yasutaka Hanada

RIKEN - The Institute of Physical and Chemical Research, Japan

Session 24: Drilling and cutting

"Melt ejection during percussion drilling of micro holes in stainless steel and nickel-based superalloy by pulsed Nd:YAG laser radiation"

Mrs. Lena Trippe

Lehrstuhl für Lasertechnik, Germany

The LPM2004 Outstanding Poster Paper Award

"Laser direct write for release of SiO2 MEMS and nano-scale devices"

Dr. Henry HelvajianThe Aerospace Corporation, USA **Ms. Meg H. Abraham**The Aerospace Corporation, USA

The LPM2004 Student Paper Award (Poster)

"Development of EUV light source by CO_2 laser-produced plasma with nano-structured SnO_2 targets"

Mr. Hiroki Tanaka Kyushu University, Japan